Information is not identity

I recently needed to enter my bank details to pay to enter a charity marathon…an absurd idea in itself…paying to be sponsered to jog 10 km !!
I could not remember my barclays password and just by having the card in my hand and knowing my date of birth and postcode I was able to change my password. Which enabled me to buy and spend whatever I wanted.
But why is it called it identity fraud…they haven’t stolen your identity, just your information. What makes an identity ?

One Response to Information is not identity

  1. Clive says:

    What a great question! Next year we’ll be spending a great deal of time on it. In the meantime, think about ‘digital identity’ and in particular the question: what kind of (digital) identity are you creating as you add to this blog? How much is this ‘you’?

Leave a Reply

